How to Finish the Dratted Story

I used to start writing when I was inspired. When I had a strong enough vision that I could just go and go and go.

Except for two of those hundred story attempts, they all petered out as I couldn’t figure out a way forward.

So when I saw a favorite resource of mine put this out, I just had to read

Then I had to share.

https://storyempire.com/2022/11/21/writing-the-end-part-1/comment-page-1/#comments

This doesn’t mean you shouldn’t write if your don’t have an ending in mind. But if all you have in your head is a scene, write that, and let it just be a scene.

A pencil sketch, rather than a full painting.

I got much off my early experience only writing scenes, practicing fighting action or silly jokes. Those were short stories, and while they were never best-selling novels, they were good practice.

So write anyways, but don’t start a big project until you have an end.

But when you are planning a long trip, have a destination in mind.

Otherwise you’ll probably just get lost.

Unless you find a destination along the way. But that’s why to write the thing anyways. Discover by doing.

3 responses to “How to Finish the Dratted Story”

  1. I’m so glad the post was helpful, and I hope the series helps when thinking about endings. You can start some road trips without a destination in mind, but usually a sense of where you want to end up is a good idea, especially when it comes to storytelling. Happy Writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Chris Schallert, Idea Engine Avatar
      Chris Schallert, Idea Engine

      I’ll keep an eye out for the next parts in the series!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started